Sleepy Time


In the early-morning light,

When day chases away the night,

And the monsters have all gone to bed…

It is then that I truly sleep,

Adjust my breathing from shallow to deep,

And the frightful thoughts go right out of my head.

But then it’s tough to wake,

I’m still tired, for goodness sake,

When the alarm sounds its loud and rude buzz.

I try snoozing and dozing,

Putting off, I’m supposing,

Waking up from the dream where I was.

Then it all starts again,

Round nine-thirty or ten,

For sleep I will have to fake.

Wish I could sleep all day long,

For it’s truly where I belong,

I’d be up all night wide awake!

                                                -enley

Leave a Reply

